Starting a Teaching Job in France with TAPIF

A few days ago I arrived In Montpellier, France, a mid-sized city in southern France, to begin a teaching assistant program for about 7 months. Here’s a bit more about the program, which is called TAPIF in the states:

french

People from all over the world do the program and teach their own respective languages as well.

Right now it’s a bit strange that I’m communicating in English, as I haven’t spoken a word of it since I arrived (apart from the a few sparing phrases with other American assistants who usually speak french all the time). This is when I realize that french classes are absolutely useless for actually, you know, speaking french with real french people! But I’ll get used to it in a few weeks for sure.

Since I arrived, I’m being put up in emergency housing in a place with very basic amenities and let’s just say I’m getting used to the stark surroundings which at first shocked me. It’s better that I don’t post pictures of the room!

_DSC0002

Montpellier is beautiful and charming, like a mini Paris:

_DSC0031

_DSC0033

_DSC0042
One of many winding streets leading to La Place de la Comedie
_DSC0044
There is a good deal of trompe l’oeil around the city; paintings of scenes on the side of buildings which are meant to “trick the eye”.

_DSC0021

_DSC0053

_DSC0056

A bientot!

One thought on “Starting a Teaching Job in France with TAPIF

Leave a comment